Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation

Chris Harris named in Scotland matchday 23 to take on Ireland

Chris Harris named in Scotland matchday 23 to take on Ireland
Scotland kick off their 2020 Six Nations campaign in Dublin on Saturday, with Gloucester Rugby centre Chris Harris named amongst the replacements.

Harris moved to Gloucester Rugby last summer from Newcastle Falcons and, once his World Cup commitments with Scotland were completed, has fitted in quickly having made 12 appearances to date in Cherry and White, scoring two tries.

The Scotland starting XV shows 10 changes from the one that faced Japan in Scotland's final match of the Rugby World Cup, and Edinburgh number eight Nick Haining will make his Scotland debut.

Head Coach Gregor Townsend said:

said: “We have managed to cover a lot of work in the two weeks we’ve been together and we’ve been impressed with how our players have taken on information and bonded as a team.

"Our goal is always to play to our potential. The challenge to do this starts on Saturday against Ireland.

“Playing to our potential starts with our collective mindset. That means being alert, focussed and resilient right from the beginning, to be ready for the physical battle that lies ahead and able to stay in the fight throughout the 80 minutes.

“As coaches, we put frameworks together and create an environment for them to thrive and reach their potential but ultimately it’s the players who go out and deliver.

"We’re looking forward to seeing them play in Dublin.”


  1. Stuart Hogg CAPTAIN (Exeter Chiefs); 14. Sean Maitland (Saracens), 13. Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors), 12. Sam Johnson (Glasgow Warriors); 11. Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh); 10. Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors), 9. Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors), 1. Rory Sutherland (Edinburgh), 2. Fraser Brown VICE CAPTAIN (Glasgow Warriors), 3. Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors); 4. Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors), 5. Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors); 6. Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh), 7. Hamish Watson (Edinburgh), 8. Nick Haining (Edinburgh)


  1. Stuart McInally (Edinburgh), 17. Allan Dell (London Irish), 18. Simon Berghan (Edinburgh), 19. Ben Toolis (Edinburgh), 20. Cornell du Preez (Worcester Warriors) 21. George Horne (Glasgow Warriors), 22. Rory Hutchinson (Northampton Saints) 23. Chris Harris (Gloucester)

Next Home Match
Kingsholm Stadium
Gloucester Rugby
Fri 2 Sep
KO 19:45
Cardiff Blues
Match starts in
Buy tickets