Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation

Gloucester Rugby name side for Sunday’s fixture at Northampton Saints

Gloucester Rugby name side for Sunday’s fixture at Northampton Saints
Gloucester Rugby make three changes to their starting line-up for Sunday’s Gallagher Premiership Rugby fixture away at Northampton Saints.

All of the changes are in the back line, where injuries to Jason Woodward, Tom Marshall and Ollie Thorley mean that the Cherry and Whites field a new back three comprising of Tom Hudson, Charlie Sharples and Matt Banahan.

With those exceptions, it's the same starting line-up that took on Wasps at Kingsholm last time out.

Amongst the replacements, hooker Mike Sherry is named in a Gloucester Rugby matchday squad for the first time and Tom Savage returns. It’s a six-two split on the bench with Callum Braley and Tom Seabrook covering the backs.

Things are heating up in the chase for a top four finish, with the Saints looking to close the gap on Gloucester Rugby which currently stands at nine points.

Previewing the game at the club’s midweek media session, Head Coach Johan Ackermann acknowledged that there’s little margin for error for all clubs from this point on.

“There are now just five matches left and no room for error for any team. It’s pressure rugby in all games. Northampton are playing great rugby, an exceptional brand and you can see the influence of Chris Boyd.

“They’ve got quality players all over and are in form. So, it’s going to be a massive challenge. But we can control our own destiny, we know where we want to go, what we have to do.

“We just have to go out there and give it our best and hopefully it will be good enough. But it’s going to be a tough fight.”

Gloucester Rugby:

  1. Tom Hudson; 14. Matt Banahan, 13. Billy Twelvetrees, 12. Mark Atkinson, 11. Charlie Sharples; 10. Danny Cipriani, 9. Willi Heinz (capt); 1. Josh Hohneck, 2. Franco Marais, 3. Fraser Balmain; 4. Ed Slater, 5. Franco Mostert; 6. Ruan Ackermann, 7. Jaco Kriel, 8. Ben Morgan


  1. Mike Sherry, 17. Val Rapava Ruskin, 18. Ruan Dreyer, 19. Tom Savage, 20. Freddie Clarke, 21. Jake Polledri, 22. Callum Braley, 23. Tom Seabrook

Unavailable for selection:

Lloyd Evans, Gerbrandt Grobler, James Hanson, Ciaran Knight, Tom Marshall, Henry Purdy, Ollie Thorley, Henry Trinder, Owen Williams, Jason Woodward