Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation

England Women U20 side to face France Women U20

England Women U20 side to face France Women U20
England Women U20 Head Coach Jo Yapp has named the squad that will face France Women U20 on Saturday 9 March, KO 6pm in Strasbourg, France.

Captained by Bristol Bears centre Pheobe Murray, they will play France in a two-game series after defeating Army Women 33-5 in a preparation match last month.

19 members of the squad that contributed towards England’s victory at their annual Army fixture have been named in the match-day 23 for France.

Iona Antwis of Gloucester-Hartpury will make her England Women U20 debut and will be joined by Bristol Bears’ Hollie Cunningham in the second row.

Named as replacements, Worcester Valkyries’ Lauren Leatherhead and Gloucester-Hartpury’s Emma Sing will also make their U20 debuts in France this weekend.

Shauna Bennett, who captained the side last time out against Army Women is unfortunately ruled out due to injury.

Yapp commented:

“This two-game series provides us with a great opportunity to develop individual players as well as the team as a whole.

“Playing at the Stade de Hautepierre will be a brilliant experience for this group where they will be exposed to playing away in Test match conditions.

“The players will undoubtedly have to make key leadership decisions under pressure that will be invaluable to their development. We’re really excited to get out there and to see what they can achieve.”

England Women U20 match day 23 for France Women U20 (Club/College/University)

  1. Carys Cox (Worcester Valkyries/Cardiff Metropolitan University); 14. Merryn Doidge (Bristol Bears/Exeter College), 13. Pheobe Murray (Bristol Bears/University of Bristol), 12. Megan Varley (Worcester Valkyries/Coventry University), 11. Cara Clarke (Worcester Valkyries/University of Bath); 10. Ellie Green (Harlequins Ladies/Reigate Grammar School), 9. Megan Davey (Loughborough Lightning/Loughborough University); 1. Akina Gondwe (Worcester Valkyries/University of Worcester), 2. Bryony Field (Loughborough Lightning/Loughborough College), 3. Detysha Harper (Firwood Waterloo Ladies/Manchester Metropolitan University); 4. Iona Antwis (Gloucester-Hartpury/Hartpury Collee), 5. Hollie Cunningham (Bristol Bears/Exeter University); 6. Cara Brincat (Worcester Valkyries/University of Worcester), 7. Amelia Harper (Loughborough Lightning/Loughborough College), 8. Anya Richmond (Loughborough Lightning/Loughborough College)


  1. Charlie Budge (Bristol Bears/University of Exeter), 17. Lauren Leatherhead (Worcester Valkyries/University of Worcester), 18. Jessica Thomas (Bristol Bears/University of Exeter), 19. Maud Muir (Wasps FC Ladies), 20. Eleanor Febrey (Gloucester Hartpury/Hartpury College), 21. Jodie Mallard (Loughborough Lightning/Loughborough College), 22. Lucie Skuse (Bristol Bears), 23. Emma Sing (Gloucester Hartpury/Hartpury College)

Next Home Match
Kingsholm Stadium
Gloucester Rugby
Fri 2 Sep
KO 19:45
Cardiff Blues
Match starts in
Buy tickets