Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation

Gloucester Rugby make five changes for trip to Exeter Chiefs

Gloucester Rugby make five changes for trip to Exeter Chiefs
Gloucester Rugby travel to take on the Exeter Chiefs at Sandy Park on Saturday, and make five changes to the starting line-up that defeated Leicester Tigers last weekend. Henry Walker will make his first start in the Gallagher Premiership.

Three of the changes are in the pack. Walker makes his first start and Val Rapava Ruskin returns at loosehead to pack down alongside him. In the back row, Ben Morgan comes in for Jaco Kriel.

In the back line, Henry Trinder returns in the midfield to replace Mark Atkinson and Charlie Sharples, currently the Premiership’s top try scorer, comes in for Matt Banahan on the wing.

Named amongst the replacements is South African hooker Jaco Visagie, who joined the club on loan this week.

[caption id="attachment_24127" align="alignnone" width="1024"] Jaco Visagie (C) Martin Bennett / Gloucester Rugby[/caption]

Despite the bonus point victory over the Tigers last weekend, Head Coach Johan Ackermann isn’t reading too much into that performance and is very aware of the fact that the Cherry and Whites will have to be better this weekend.

“People are getting a little carried away because of the tries we scored against Leicester, because they were good tries especially the last one. It got everyone excited! But it wasn’t the perfect performance, we made mistakes and missed opportunities. But the positives were there, when we played well, we played very well.

“Last week, Exeter also made mistakes at Bristol but had the quality to go out and get the win at the end. And that’s what it’s going to take, it’ll take a full 80 minutes of hard work and patience and good decisions

 “They’re so good at what they do, that you have to match that and be better just to have a chance. So, it’s going to be a massive challenge.”

Gloucester Rugby:

  1. Jason Woodward; 14. Charlie Sharples, 13. Henry Trinder, 12. Billy Twelvetrees, 11. Ollie Thorley; 10. Danny Cipriani, 9. Willi Heinz; 1. Val Rapava Ruskin, 2. Henry Walker, 3. Fraser Balmain; 4. Tom Savage, 5. Ed Slater (capt); 6. Freddie Clarke, 7. Gareth Evans, 8. Ben Morgan


  1. Jaco Visagie, 17. Kyle Traynor, 18. Josh Hohneck, 19. Gerbrandt Grobler, 20. Aaron Hinkley, 21. Callum Braley, 22, Owen Williams, 23. Tom Hudson

Unavailable for selection:

Ruan Ackermann, Mark Atkinson, Gareth Denman, Ruan Dreyer, James Hanson, Jaco Kriel, Lewis Ludlow, Franco Marais, Tom Marshall, Paddy McAllister, Jake Polledri, Henry Purdy, Will Safe
Next Home Match
Kingsholm Stadium
Gloucester Rugby
Sat 4 Jun
KO 15:00
Match starts in
Buy tickets