Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation

Gloucester Rugby make three changes for Saturday’s trip to Northampton

Gloucester Rugby make three changes for Saturday’s trip to Northampton
Looking to build on last weekend’s bonus point victory at home to Worcester, Gloucester Rugby make three changes to their starting line-up for Saturday’s Gallagher Premiership Rugby fixture away at Northampton Saints.

It’s the final fixture of 2019 and both teams will be looking to consolidate their positions in the top six of what is a congested league table, the Cherry and Whites in fifth place trailing the Saints in second by just three points.

The one change to the Gloucester Rugby back line sees Charlie Sharples come in for Ollie Thorley while, in the pack, Josh Hohneck and Jamal Ford-Robinson replace Val Rapava-Ruskin and Fraser Balmain respectively. Ford-Robinson will be making his first return to his former club.

Previewing the fixture earlier this week, Head Coach Johan Ackermann said that the Worcester performance was a positive, but the fixture at Franklin’s Gardens will be a big test.

“We were very happy and grateful for the win. It was one of our better performances, just in the way that we controlled the game in the right areas. We have to get consistency in our performances but there were a lot of good things.

“Apart from last weekend, they (Northampton) have been brilliant so far this season. They’ve got quality players throughout and a very good team with guys that can punish you all over the field.

“They’re a quality side and Chris Boyd has done tremendously there. So, huge respect but obviously we’ll be up for the challenge and giving it our best shot.”

Gloucester Rugby:

  1. Tom Marshall; 14. Charlie Sharples, 13. Chris Harris, 12. Mark Atkinson, 11. Louis Rees-Zammit; 10. Danny Cipriani, 9. Willi Heinz (capt); 1. Josh Hohneck, 2. Franco Marais, 3. Jamal Ford-Robinson; 4. Alex Craig, 5. Franco Mostert; 6. Ruan Ackermann, 7. Lewis Ludlow, 8. Ben Morgan


  1. Todd Gleave, 17. Alex Seville, 18. Fraser Balmain, 19. Gerbrandt Grobler, 20. Freddie Clarke, 21. Joe Simpson, 22. Billy Twelvetrees, 23. Matt Banahan

Unavailable for selection:

Ruan Dreyer, Corné Fourie, James Hanson, Jaco Kriel, Val Rapava Ruskin, Ed Slater, Ollie Thorley, Owen Williams