Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation

Gloucester Rugby name side for Gallagher Premiership opener at Sale Sharks

Gloucester Rugby name side for Gallagher Premiership opener at Sale Sharks
Jamal-Ford Robinson and Joe Simpson will make their first Gallagher Premiership starts for Gloucester Rugby in Saturday’s fixture away at Sale Sharks. Ed Slater will captain the team.

There is a familiar look to the Gloucester Rugby matchday squad. In addition to Ford-Robinson and Simpson making their first Premiership starts in Cherry and White, replacement hooker Corné Fourie could make his first appearance in the Premiership.

Meanwhile, props Josh Hohneck and Fraser Balmain are named in the matchday squad for the first time this season. Rugby World Cup representatives Callum Braley, Chris Harris and Jake Polledri are not considered for selection while Willi Heinz and Franco Mostert are still on duty in Japan with England and South Africa respectively.

Previewing the fixture with the local media this week, Head Coach Johan Ackermann admitted that it’s a challenging opening fixture but an exciting one.

“They (Sale) are missing a couple of players on World Cup duty, the same as ourselves, but look at who they have added to the squad this season. And they had a quality side already when you look at that back line that they possess.

“They’ve been tipped by many commentators to be one of the main sides this season. We’re under no illusion about how good they are and what the challenge is.

“But, as I’ve said in the past, there are no easy games in this competition, and it doesn’t matter who you start against. You play a team on the road and then, at some point later in the season, you play them back at home.

“So, it’s a great challenge for us, one we are looking forward to.”

Gloucester Rugby:

  1. Jason Woodward; 14. Tom Marshall, 13. Billy Twelvetrees, 12. Mark Atkinson, 11. Ollie Thorley; 10. Danny Cipriani, 9. Joe Simpson; 1. Val Rapava Ruskin, 2. Franco Marais, 3. Jamal Ford-Robinson; 4. Ed Slater (capt), 5. Gerbrandt Grobler; 6. Lewis Ludlow, 7. Jaco Kriel, 8. Ruan Ackermann


  1. Corné Fourie, 17. Josh Hohneck, 18. Fraser Balmain, 19. Freddie Clarke, 20. Aaron Hinkley, 21. Charlie Chapman, 22. Lloyd Evans, 23. Matt Banahan

Unavailable for selection:

Callum Braley, Ruan Dreyer, James Hanson, Chris Harris, Willi Heinz, Ciaran Knight, Ben Morgan, Franco Mostert, Jake Polledri, Henry Trinder, Owen Williams
Next Home Match
Kingsholm Stadium
Gloucester Rugby
Fri 2 Sep
KO 19:45
Cardiff Blues
Match starts in
Buy tickets