Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation

Gloucester Rugby name side for local derby against Worcester Warriors

Gloucester Rugby name side for local derby against Worcester Warriors
Gloucester Rugby make four changes to their starting line-up for Saturday’s Gallagher Premiership clash with Worcester Warriors at Kingsholm on Saturday (kick off 3pm).

The one change in the back line sees Owen Williams start his first Premiership game of the season as he partners Billy Twelvetrees in the Gloucester Rugby midfield.

Up front, Josh Hohneck and James Hanson come into the front row at loosehead and hooker respectively, while Jaco Kriel returns at openside flanker.

And, amongst the replacements, named in a Gloucester Rugby matchday squad for the first time is Springbok second row Franco Mostert, now available for selection having completed his international duties with South Africa.

The Cherry and Whites are looking to get back to winning ways after last Saturday’s defeat away at Exeter, but Head Coach Johan Ackermann admitted this week that the Warriors will be no pushovers.

“Worcester is going to be a massive challenge, they’re a quality side and are well coached and are going to test us on all fronts.

“They’re defensively very strong, they have big forwards and quite an explosive back line – they’ll be a big challenge. Whilst I feel that we’ve made Kingsholm a tough place to come to in the past 12 or 14 months, we didn’t play our best game here last season against them.

“That was a big fight and we expect nothing less this weekend. They haven’t been beaten badly in any game, because of the quality of their team and the fight that they put up. They will have taken confidence from their result last weekend and travel won’t be a factor! It’ll be tough.” 

Gloucester Rugby:

  1. Jason Woodward; 14. Charlie Sharples, 13. Billy Twelvetrees, 12. Owen Williams, 11. Ollie Thorley; 10. Danny Cipriani, 9. Willi Heinz (capt); 1. Josh Hohneck, 2. James Hanson, 3. Fraser Balmain; 4. Tom Savage, 5. Ed Slater; 6. Freddie Clarke, 7. Jaco Kriel, 8. Ben Morgan


  1. Jaco Visagie, 17. Val Rapava Ruskin, 18. Ciaran Knight, 19. Franco Mostert, 20. Jake Polledri, 21. Callum Braley, 22. Henry Trinder, 23. Tom Hudson

Unavailable for selection:

Ruan Ackermann, Mark Atkinson, Gareth Denman, Ruan Dreyer, Lewis Ludlow, Franco Marais, Tom Marshall, Paddy McAllister, Will Safe
Next Home Match
Kingsholm Stadium
Gloucester Rugby
Sat 4 Jun
KO 15:00
Match starts in
Buy tickets