Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation

Gloucester Rugby name unchanged starting line-up for trip to Harlequins

Gloucester Rugby name unchanged starting line-up for trip to Harlequins
Gloucester Rugby will resume their Gallagher Premiership Rugby campaign when they take on Harlequins at the Stoop on Sunday (kick off 1pm), and have named an unchanged starting line-up for the occasion.

The only changes to the Gloucester Rugby matchday squad are amongst the replacements. Props Kyle Traynor and Gareth Denman get the nod, while Lewis Ludlow comes in for Jake Polledri who has been called up by Italy for Six Nations duty.

Ollie Thorley and Callum Braley who have trained with England and Italy respectively this week, are available for selection.

It’s third against fourth place in the Gallagher Premiership table and, having slipped up at Bristol last weekend, the Cherry and Whites would dearly love to get back to winning ways to boost their end of season play-off hopes.

Head Coach Johan Ackermann told the local media this week that his team will face a tough assignment at the Stoop.

“It’s crucial that we learn one or two things from the game at Bristol. We had opportunities right until the dying moments and, if you look at the likes of Exeter and Saracens, they always find a way to win those games.

“It’s important that we’ve trained well this week and put that game behind us. The reality is that there’s nothing you can change about the past, but you can control what you do today and going forward and we have to get our mental and physical side ready for a big challenge on Sunday.

“Credit to Paul Gustard and his coaching staff and team, they’ve played great rugby these last few weeks and are on a winning streak. They’re obviously a confident side. For us it’s going to be a massive challenge.”

Gloucester Rugby:

  1. Jason Woodward; 14. Tom Marshall, 13. Billy Twelvetrees, 12. Mark Atkinson, 11. Ollie Thorley; 10. Danny Cipriani, 9. Willi Heinz (capt); 1. Josh Hohneck, 2. James Hanson, 3. Fraser Balmain; 4. Ed Slater, 5. Franco Mostert; 6. Ruan Ackermann, 7. Jaco Kriel, 8. Ben Morgan


  1. Franco Marais, 17. Kyle Traynor, 18. Gareth Denman, 19. Freddie Clarke, 20. Lewis Ludlow, 21. Callum Braley, 22. Owen Williams, 23. Matt Banahan

Unavailable for selection:

Ruan Dreyer, Lloyd Evans, Todd Gleave, Tom Hudson, Jake Polledri, Val Rapava Ruskin, Charlie Sharples
Next Home Match
Kingsholm Stadium
Gloucester Rugby
Sat 4 Jun
KO 15:00
Match starts in
Buy tickets