Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation

Heinz to start for England in Calcutta Cup match against Scotland at Murrayfield

Heinz to start for England in Calcutta Cup match against Scotland at Murrayfield
England men’s head coach Eddie Jones has named his 23-man squad to play Scotland in the second round of the Guinness Six Nations at Murrayfield (KO 4:45pm live on BBC). Gloucester Rugby’s Willi Heinz will start at scrum-half.

Mako Vunipola, Jamie George and Kyle Sinckler are named in the front row with George Kruis and Maro Itoje selected in the second row.

Lewis Ludlam is named at blind-side flanker with Sam Underhill at openside and Tom Curry at number 8.

Willi Heinz starts at scrum-half with Ben Youngs named as a finisher. George Ford and captain Owen Farrell will play fly half and inside centre with Jonathan Joseph named at outside centre.

George Furbank, who made his England debut last weekend, is selected at full back with Elliot Daly and Jonny May on the wings.

Uncapped players Tom Dunn and Ben Earl are included as finishers with Joe Launchbury returning to the matchday 23 after recovering from injury.

Jones said:

“Preparation this week has been great. We have sought to address the issues from the France game and have had a really good and sharp preparation for Scotland.

“Scotland are a dangerous side. They like to play with a lot of width and with a lot of flow and tempo in their game. We want to make sure we dominate the gain line.

“Their win record against England at Murrayfield is substantially higher than their overall record against us, so we have to recognise they are a dangerous beast and we have to be at our best to beat them.”

Dunn was recalled back into the squad after Luke Cowan-Dickie left camp this morning to be with his partner who has gone into labour.

England starting XV

15 George Furbank (Northampton Saints, 1 cap); 14 Jonny May (Leicester Tigers, 53 caps); 13 Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 48 caps); 12 Owen Farrell (Saracens, 80 caps) capt, 11 Elliot Daly (Saracens, 40 caps); 10 George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 66 caps), 9 Willi Heinz (Gloucester Rugby, 10 caps); 1 Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 58 caps), 2 Jamie George (Saracens, 46 caps), 3 Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 32 caps); 4 Maro Itoje (Saracens, 35 caps), 5 George Kruis (Saracens, 42 caps), 6 Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints, 7 caps), 7 Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby, 16 caps), 8 Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 20 caps)


16 Tom Dunn (Bath Rugby, uncapped), 17 Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers, 15 caps), 18 Will Stuart (Bath Rugby, 1 cap), 19 Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 62 caps), 20 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 82 caps), 21 Ben Earl (Saracens, uncapped), 22 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 96 caps), 23 Ollie Devoto (Exeter Chiefs, 2 caps)
Next Home Match
Kingsholm Stadium
Gloucester Rugby
Sat 4 Jun
KO 15:00
Match starts in
Buy tickets