Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation

Ludlow to skipper Gloucester Rugby in Premiership Rugby Cup at Bath

Ludlow to skipper Gloucester Rugby in Premiership Rugby Cup at Bath
Having skippered Gloucester Rugby in European action away at Castres a fortnight ago, Lewis Ludlow will continue to lead the side in Saturday’s round four Premiership Rugby Cup fixture against Bath at the Rec.

As was the case in France, Ludlow will lead a side that features a mix of the club’s best up and coming young talent and a number of players with significant first team experience.

Changes in the back line from the side that started in Castres see a first senior start for Jacob Morris on the left wing, while Dom Coetzer and Callum Braley both come into the side.

In the pack, Alex Craig replaces Gerbrandt Grobler in the second row, while there’s a welcome return after a long absence through injury for Will Safe who is named in the back row instead of Freddie Clarke.

Backs Coach Tim Taylor was on media duties this week and stressed that, although qualification for the semi-finals is still possible, that everyone is focused on Saturday’s performance and nothing else.

“We need a few results to go our way as well, but we’ll just be focused on going there and trying to get a result ourselves to give us the best chance.

“No matter the competition, Bath vs Gloucester is a massive game and whoever has the privilege of wearing the Gloucester jersey this week will, I’m sure, thrive on going down there and playing at the Rec.

“A lot of the younger players got to play out in Castres recently and they put in a great effort, their energy and intent was brilliant. And the last few days in training have been really good, the attitude has been excellent and they’re looking forward to it.” 

Gloucester Rugby:

  1. Dom Coetzer; 14. Matt Banahan, 13. Henry Trinder, 12. Tom Hudson, 11. Jacob Morris; 10. Lloyd Evans, 9. Callum Braley; 1. Alex Seville, 2. Henry Walker, 3. Ciaran Knight; 4. Tom Savage, 5. Alex Craig; 6. Lewis Ludlow (capt), 7. Will Safe, 8. Gareth Evans


  1. Todd Gleave, 17. Paddy McAllister, 18. Gareth Denman, 19. Gerbrandt Grobler, 20. Cam Terry, 21. Charlie Chapman, 22. Jack Reeves, 23. Alex Morgan

Unavailable for selection:

Ruan Ackermann, Ruan Dreyer, Jaco Kriel, Jake Polledri, Henry Purdy, Val Rapava Ruskin, Charlie Sharples