Jump to Main ContentJump to Primary Navigation

Match Preview – Sale Sharks v Gloucester Rugby

Match Preview – Sale Sharks v Gloucester Rugby
The regular Gallagher Premiership season concludes this weekend, with the Cherry and Whites making the journey north to the AJ Bell Stadium to take on Top Six chasing Sale Sharks on Saturday afternoon. (KO 4pm).

With play-off rugby and third place already secured, the Cherry and Whites will be focused on finishing the regular season on a high, and building on their victory last time out against Newcastle Falcons as they face a tricky test in the North West.

Here are some players to keep an eye on this weekend.

Last Time Out

Gloucester Rugby 27-17 Newcastle Falcons

Bristol Bears 20-20 Sale Sharks

Match Facts

Sale Sharks are unbeaten in their last two Gallagher Premiership Rugby matches, beating Bath and drawing against Bristol, they have not gone three matches undefeated since January. The Sharks only two defeats at AJ Bell Stadium in Premiership Rugby this season were to Wasps in Round 4 and Exeter in Round 15.

Gloucester Rugby have already qualified for their first Gallagher Premiership Rugby semi-final since 2011 and have lost only once in the last six rounds: 20-27 at Worcester on 28 April.

Sale beat Gloucester 30-15 at Kingsholm in Round 11 but have not achieved a season’s double over the Cherry & Whites since 2013/14. Gloucester have won on two of their last three visits to AJ Bell Stadium. 

Team News

Sale Sharks

15. Chris Ashton, 14. Denny Solomona, 13. Sam James, 12. James O’Connor, 11. Byron McGuigan, 10. AJ MacGinty, 9. Faf de Klerk; 1. Ross Harrison, 2. Rob Webber, 3. WillGriff John; 4. Josh Beaumont, 5. James Phillips, 6. Ben Curry, 7. Tom Curry, 8. Jono Ross (capt)


16. Curtis Langdon, 17. Valery Morozov 18. Joe Jones; 19. Bryn Evans, 20. Josh Strauss, 21. Will Cliff, 22. Luke James, 23. Arron Reed

Gloucester Rugby

15. Charlie Sharples, 14. Tom Seabrook, 13. Henry Purdy, 12. Matt Banahan, 11. Ollie Thorley; 10. Lloyd Evans, 9. Callum Braley; 1. Kyle Traynor, 2. Henry Walker, 3. Gareth Denman; 4. Tom Savage (capt), 5. Gerbrandt Grobler; 6. Jake Polledri, 7. Lewis Ludlow, 8. Gareth Evans


16. Todd Gleave, 17. Alex Seville, 18. Paddy McAllister; 19. Alex Craig, 20. Aaron Hinkley; 21. Ben Vellacott, 22. Dom Coetzer, 23. Tom Marshall

Match Officials

Referee: Wayne Barnes (217th Premiership game).

Assistant Referees: Christophe Ridley & Peter Allan.

TMO: Keith Lewis.

Citing Officer: Shaun Gallagher.

How To Follow

This Saturday’s game is not live on TV, but there will be live commentary via BBC Radio Gloucestershire who will in place at the AJ Bell Stadium

Follow all of the club channels for live updates on the matchday live blog on the club website, Twitter and behind the scenes on Instagram.

Enjoy the game!
Next Home Match
Kingsholm Stadium
Gloucester Rugby
Sat 4 Jun
KO 15:00
Match starts in
Buy tickets